Distracted Driving in Colorado
According to the Colorado Department of Transportation, 43 distraction-related vehicle accidents occur every day in Colorado, and approximately 50 distracted driving fatalities are reported every year.
Distracted driving has become a public health issue with implications that reach far beyond our roads and interstates.
According to one report, the cumulative cost of distracted driving is as much as $175 billion a year—this total includes productivity losses, damaged property, medical and rehabilitation costs, as well as insurance administrative costs.
If you’ve been in an accident and you know or suspect the other driver was distracted, call the car accident attorney at Norton Frickey P.C. for help.
What is Distracted Driving?
Distracted driving is ANY activity that takes a driver’s attention away from the road.
Distractions are apparent in a variety of driving behaviors like eating, personal grooming, tuning the radio, etc., but cell phone use tops the list for most dangerous.
In Colorado, the rules and penalties for improper cell phone use are as follows:
- Minors (drivers less than 18 years old) are prohibited from ALL cell phone use. An initial violation is a Class A Traffic Infraction, which carries a $50 fine. The fine increases to $100 for all subsequent violations.
- Adult drivers are permitted to make phone calls while driving. Texting while driving is illegal, but law enforcement can only write a ticket for the offense if the violation caused the driver to drive in a “careless or imprudent” manner. Those cited face a Class 2 Misdemeanor Traffic Offense and a fine up to $300 for the initial violation.
Should an offense result in bodily injury or death to another, distracted drivers may also face a reckless driving conviction or vehicular homicide, which carries the possibility of long-term imprisonment and steep fines.
All forms of distracted driving are unsafe, but cell phone use is often the deadliest. Follow the law to avoid a citation or a comprehensive crash investigation.
Why You’ll Need a Layer…
In the unfortunate event you or someone you care about is involved in a crash, it’s a good idea to connect with an attorney as soon as possible.
During a crash investigation, police routinely ask about cell phones or texting while driving, but they rarely ask about other common distractions such as eating or drinking or fretting over small children in the backseat.
An experienced personal injury attorney will sort through the details to determine exactly what went wrong. This is especially important in Colorado, where we follow contributory negligence laws. These laws assign fault based on each party’s contribution to a crash.
For example, if you or the other driver is texting when an accident occurs, this information would impact how fault is distributed, and subsequently, how much compensation is available to whoever is injured.
An experienced car accident lawyer will also know how to effectively gather evidence that will be advantageous to your claim. Cell phone records, for example, include timestamps of electronic communications, social media posts, and phone calls.
Event data recorders (ERDs), typically found in newer vehicles, provide detailed information about the driver’s actions leading up to a crash. EDRs record information such as speed, acceleration patterns, and braking.
If you’re involved in a crash and you suspect the other driver may have been distracted, hire an attorney who is familiar with these types of investigations.
Aggressive Representation for Colorado Victims
Victims who suffer a serious accident should focus on recovery not how to pay the bills.
The car crash experts at Norton Frickey P.C. can help accident victims in Colorado obtain compensation for:
- Emergency services
- Medical expenses
- Lost wages or lost earning potential
- Property damage
- Pain and suffering
When someone else’s negligence is responsible for your injuries, call a law firm that knows how to investigate a distracted driving accident.
Even if you were partially at fault for the accident, the other driver’s actions may prove more dangerous than your own. Consolations are FREE, and there are no obligations.
Plus, our attorneys work on a contingent-fee basis, which means you don’t pay anything unless we win your case!